The Build!


So as I mentioned in the previous post the kit I picked up at the Scottish National Scale Model Show was the one above. The Revell 1/48 F-5E Tiger II, probably not the best kit to choose to get myself back in to building after such a long time away.

I picked up this kit as I love the subject matter, I have had a soft spot for the F-5 since the eighties. I first came across them in Top Gun (F-5s played the part of the fictional MiG-28s) and I thought they were fantastic. I used to go to the library a lot as a child and I would spend hours in the aircraft section looking at pictures of many aircraft but the F-5 always had that something special for me.

It turns out the kit is a re-boxing of the old monogram kit and comes with all the associated fit, flash and warping issues that should be expected with a kit of that age. The fit especially was terrible, and I have never done much with modelling fillers etc so it was going to be a particularly frustrating build.

Leave a Reply

