My Airbrushes

Airbrushes and my new Neo by Iwata


So my new Airbrush arrived this week. As I have mentioned before I hadn’t really done much in the way of airbrushing in the past but over the last few weeks I have done much practising with the generic dual action one that came with my compressor kit. I have to say I thought the generic was an excellent airbrush and certainly probably more than adequate for most modelling requirements, however I decided I was going to treat myself and ordered a Neo by Iwata.

The Neo arrived well packaged, thick card box that put me in mind of iPhone packaging with the brush, nozzle spanner and small cup sitting nestled inside a High density foam insert. On unboxing the brush and comparing the brushes side by side you can see from the image above with the large cup attached to the Neo there is very little in it size wise between the two.

The detachable cup on the Neo is a nice touch and will certainly make cleaning and easier affair. There is quite a difference in weight between the two brushes too, with the Neo being a lot lighter in the hand.

I hooked the brush up to my compressor and straight away noticed the difference, the Neo atomised the paint into a much finer mist that strangely still seemed more dense than that produced by my generic brush, and the coat went down much more even.

Even the action on the brush seemed almost more responsive, it really doesn’t take much movement on the trigger to go from a fine line to a full wide coverage mist and the brush is capable of emptying even the larger of the two cups in what seems like only a couple of seconds.

The one thing that the Generic does have that the Neo doesn’t is the adjuster on the end of the brush that sets a limit to how far back you can pull the trigger and increase the flow. I have to say as a newbie to airbrushing I did find this feature particularly useful on the generic, but with the Neo I will have no where to hide and will simply have to learn better brush control.

Leave a Reply

